NetResults Tracker
User Preferences

Default Preferences for New Users

A set of preferences can be applied by default to a user account that is added to the workgroup. Each user can modify his or her own preferences in the Preferences section. There are different preferences available depending on the user's license type (Static / Floating or Restricted).

To modify the default preferences for new users:

  1. Login to the workgroup as Admin
  2. Click on the Admin icon
  3. Click on the User Preferences button
  4. Select the User License Type, then click on the Continue button
  5. Set the preferences (each option is described in detail below)
  6. Click Update to save your selections or click Update & Push to Selected User Groups to push some or all of the user preference settings to some or all user groups. The Push User Preferences section has more information about this operation.

Report Settings

Help Settings

Date Settings

The following settings govern the way date and time fields are displayed for users by default.

Export Settings

The following preferences are used when report data is exported from the Tracker Home, Query, and Metrics pages. Data is exported as a CSV (comma separated values) file. However, because there is no firm definition of a CSV standard, you may need to modify some export parameters to allow use of the exported data by other applications (spreadsheet, database, etc.). Tracker and your Tracker Administrator have set these values to defaults that should work in most environments. So in most cases, you should not need to change these settings. If you have an application that is not importing the data correctly, review the information below.

Note: When exporting data from a UTF-8 workgroup using the recommended settings listed above, misalignment of the data can occur when viewing the exported data in Excel if the file is not first saved to disk and then opened in one of the two ways listed below. Unfortunately, the default file open in Excel does not properly store multiple line text (as there may be in Tracker TextArea fields) in a single cell. Instead, it puts each line in its own cell which results in misalignment of the fields in the spreadsheet.

For UTF-8 data exported with Field Separator set to Tab, Row Separator set to Carriage Return & Line Feed, and File Extension set to txt, you can get Excel to properly place multiple line data in a single cell using one of the two operations below.

  1. From Windows Explorer, select the file to be opened.
  2. Right-click on the file and select Open With->Microsoft Excel.
  1. From Excel, select File->Open.
  2. Locate and select the file that you want from the list (the file you created when you exported the data from Tracker).
  3. Hold down the SHIFT key on your keyboard, and then click the Open button (if you do not hold down the SHIFT key, the file may not be processed correctly).

Query Page Pulldown Settings

Multi-Line Field Settings

Discussion Settings (Enterprise Edition Only)

These preferences apply to the Discussion feature, which is only available in Tracker Enterprise Edition. These preferences are only available for Static / Floating users.

Push User Preferences to Selected User Groups

The default user preferences can be applied to some or all user groups using the Update & Push to Selected User Groups operation that is available after updating the default user preferences. NOTE: You may wish to make a backup of your database prior to performing this operation as this operation cannot be undone.

To push the default preferences to selected user groups:

  1. Login to the workgroup as Admin
  2. Click on the Admin icon
  3. Click on the User Preferences button
  4. Select the User License Type, then click on the Continue button
  5. Set the preferences as desired
  6. Click the Update & Push to Selected User Groups button
  7. Select the user groups In the Standard / Restricted User Groups field that should have the default preferences applied (Standard or Restricted user groups will be displayed based on the user license type you selected after clicking on the User Preferences button). To select multiple user groups, hold down the Ctrl button on your keyboard while clicking on the desired user groups. Click All if you wish to select all user groups. Click None if you wish to de-select all user groups.
  8. By default all user preferences will be checked (selected) to be applied to the selected user groups. If you only wish to apply certain user preferences, UNcheck the boxes for the preferences that should not be applied.
  9. Click OK to apply the selected user preferences to the selected user groups